Driving under influence (DUI) is a serious offense with far-reaching consequences. One of the direct consequences of drunk driving in Virginia is the suspension of your driver’s license.
The process of restoring a driver’s license in Virginia depends on the specific DUI you have been charged with, the penalties as well as your previous DUI convictions. Reinstatement also depends on whether your DUI involved alcohol or other drugs and if you have pending criminal charges.
Reinstating your driver’s license
After the first Virginia DUI, you can apply for a restricted license. However, as the name suggests, do keep in mind that this type of license will restrict when and where you can drive. Generally, a restricted license will limit you to driving to places like work, dropping and picking your kids from school or attending DUI classes.
If you are issued with a restricted driver’s license, then an ignition interlock device will be installed in your car. This device requires a clean breath sample before you can start and drive the vehicle. And you will be responsible for the cost of installing and maintaining this device.
To have your full driving privileges back, you will have to adhere to the terms of the suspension. And in Virginia, the terms may include the following:
- Waiting for the suspension period which is usually 12 months or more to lapse
- Proof that you have paid applicable DUI fines and other costs
- Proof of financial responsibility from your insurance company (SR22 certificate)
- Proof of completion of your Driver Improvement (DI) program
- Proof of completion of an Alcohol Safety Action Program
- Installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for at least six months
Most often, you will be required to pay a driver’s license reinstatement fee of $220.
Suspension of your driving privileges is one of the most inconvenient consequences of a DUI conviction. Find out how you can defend yourself if you have been charged with drunk driving in Virginia.