Richmond Attorney Ready To Defense You Against Assault Charges
If you have been arrested and accused of assault or battery, do not delay seeking legal help. Del Rio Law, PLLC, provides zealous advocacy to accused people throughout Virginia. I, a Richmond assault and battery attorney, understand that the criminal justice process can be overwhelming, which is why I am prepared to guide you through your case and help you achieve the best outcome possible. Rest assured that I know what it takes to protect your rights and safeguard your future!
Why Choose Del Rio Law, PLLC?
- Former Virginia magistrate
- Named “Top Lawyer 2016″” in The Global Directory of Who’s Who
- Services available in English and Spanish
- FREE 30-minute case evaluations
Assault And Battery: Charges And Punishments
Assault and battery charges in Virginia include:
- Intimidation: Causing someone to fear bodily harm through the use of threatening actions or words. Intimidation cases do not involve stalking, an attack or a display of weapons.
- Simple assault (VA code § 18.2-57): Simple assault involves an attack of another person but without weapons or bodily injury.
- Aggravated assault (VA code § 18.2-51.2): Aggravated assault involves an attack on another person where a weapon is displayed or used in a threatening manner. This type of assault results in bodily injury.
In Virginia, a simple assault is a Class 1 misdemeanor that is punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of $2,500. Aggravated assault that results in severe injury to the victim (malicious wounding) is considered a Class 2 felony that could result in a lifetime prison sentence. Attacks against the police or probation officers are also felony offenses that can result in prison sentences ranging from six months to 10 years.
Domestic Assault And Battery
A common form of simple assault is domestic abuse, which is assault and battery against a spouse, child or another member of the household. Domestic violence accusations are serious, and accused individuals should immediately involve an attorney.
For a first offense, a convicted individual could face one year in jail. If the defendant has two or more previous convictions, the punishment is increased to one to five years in jail or prison in addition to a $2,500 fine.
Fighting To Protect Your Future
A criminal conviction comes with immediate consequences, like fines and incarceration, and can continue to haunt a person even after they have paid for their mistake. A criminal record containing a violent crime could cause damage to a hard-earned reputation and make it difficult for you to obtain credit, get a job, find a place to live or qualify for loans to receive a college education.
With so much at stake, it is urgent that you work with a skilled defense attorney. Being accused of a crime can be a frightening experience, but with the right lawyer on your side, you can feel more confident knowing that your rights will be protected. Call 804-352-0227 or fill out an online consultation form to schedule your free and confidential case review.