The Hazards Of Repeat DUI Arrests And Convictions
Virginia is notoriously tough on crime. This stance is evident in DUI penalties, which include a driver’s license revocation of one year after a first-offense conviction. A lasting criminal record is an even harsher punishment. With a DUI misdemeanor or felony on your record, you may find doors shut for years to come when you try to apply for a job, get a home loan or pursue other life goals. If you have been arrested and/or charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, an aggressive defense is critical for your short-term freedom and your long-term prospects.
To give yourself the best chance of a favorable outcome after a DUI arrest in Virginia, consult with an experienced attorney. I am Abraham Del Rio III, the founder and operator of Del Rio Law, PLLC, in Glen Allen. I am sincerely interested in helping you take back the reins after you have been charged with DUI. Whether or not you hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL), I am confident that I can find that needle in a haystack as I seek to discover weaknesses in the evidence against you.
Repeat DUI Penalties
A blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher is enough for a law enforcement or prosecutor to prove that you were under the influence of alcohol. A repeat DUI arrest, breath test refusal or DUI conviction can set your life back in many ways. Consider the escalation of various penalties depending on the number of DUIs on your record:
- After a first breath test refusal: Automatic driver’s license suspension of seven days
- After a second breath test refusal: Automatic driver’s license suspension of 60 days
- After a first DUI conviction: A mandatory $250 minimum fine and revocation of driving privileges for one year
- After your second DUI conviction: A mandatory $500 minimum fine and revocation of driving privileges for three years and up to one year in jail, and potential additional jail time as follows:
- If your second DUI is within 10 years of the first DUI conviction: 10 days of mandatory jail time
- If your second DUI is within five years of the first DUI conviction: 20 days of mandatory jail time
- A third or subsequent arrest within five years of a previous one: No bail option before trial
This is a just sampling of potential penalties and repercussions after repeat DUI arrests, breath test refusals and/or DUI convictions. Learn more about your DUI case in a free initial consultation.